Acta 8 A new distance

Spontaneous Music Ensemble

John Stevens, drum kit and pocket trumpet; Roger Smith, Spanish guitar; John Butcher, soprano and tenor saxophones.

  1. Introduction (01.33)
  2. Stig (26.21)
  3. So this is official (03.54)
  4. Tape delight (06.15)
  5. Uneasy options (09.59)
  6. A certain elegance (04.45)
Introduction and Stig recorded at Conway Hall at the 3rd Annual LMC Festival, 28 May 1994; other tracks recorded at an LMC Benefit Concert at The Red Rose, 9 January 1994.

Cover drawing (reproduced above) by John Stevens.

Conway Hall photo (reproduced below) by ZV Vasovic.

Re-issued, with additional material, in 2005 on Emanem 4115.

Go to list of Acta recordings or Go to Independent Recording Labels Page