Cuneiform RUNE 290/291 Spiritual dimensions

Wadada Leo Smith

Golden Quintet: Wadada Leo Smith, trumpet; Vijay Iyer, piano, synthesizer; John Lindberg, bass; Pheeroan AkLaff, drums; Don Moye, drums.
Organic: Wadada Leo Smith, trumpet; Nels Cline, guitar; Michael Gregory, guitar; Brandon Ross, guitar; Lamar Smith, guitar; Okkyung Lee, cello; John Lindberg, bass; Skuli Sverrisson, bass; Pheeroan AkLaff, drums.

    Rune 290: Wadada Leo Smith's Golden Quintet
  1. Al-Shadhili's litany of the sea: sunrise (12.57)
  2. Pacifica (05.49)
  3. Umar at the dome of the rock, parts 1 & 2 (14.52)
  4. Crossing Sirat (06.21)
  5. South Central L.A. kulture (15.42)
    Rune 291: Wadada Leo Smith's Organic
  1. South Central L.A. kulture (12.37)
  2. Angela Davis (19.18)
  3. Organic (18.07)
  4. Joy : Spiritual fire : joy (13.34)
Rune 290 recorded live at Vision XIII on 13 June 2008 in New York City; Rune 291 recorded live at Firehouse 12 on 17 April 2009 in New Haven, CT.

Cover quilt (front cover reproduced above) by Sarah Bell Brown; CD package design by Bill Ellsworth.

Go to list of Cuneiform recordings or to Independent Recording Labels Page