Intakt 045 Three pieces for orchestra

London Jazz Composers' Orchestra/Marilyn Crispell/Maggie Nicols

Barry Guy, bass, director; Henry Lowther, trumpet; Jon Corbett, trumpet; Marc Charig, cornet; Paul Rutherford, trombone; Chris Bridges, trombone; Alan Tomlinson, trombone; Robin Hayward, tuba; Howard Riley, piano; Trevor Watts, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone; Simon Picard, reeds; Peter McPhail, reeds; Paul Dunmall, reeds; Evan Parker, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone; Phil Wachsmann, violin; Barre Phillips, bass; Paul Lytton, drums.

  1. Owed to J.S. [John Stevens] (20.28)
  2. Sleeping furiously: part 1 (06.21); part 2 (12.31); part 3 (05.13)

    Featuring Marilyn Crispell, piano

  3. Strange loops (22.00)

    Featuring Maggie Nicols, voice

Recorded on 18 December 1995 at Rote Fabrik Zurich.

Cover art (reproduced above) by Eugen Bisig.

Go to list of Intakt recordings or Go to Independent Recording Labels Page