Golden Years of New Jazz GY5/6 Live at Praxis '84

Sun Ra Arkestra

Sun Ra, piano, organ, synth, voice; Salah Ragab, congas, percussion; Marshall Allen, alto saxophone, clarinet, oboe, flute, kora, electric valve instrument, percussion; Eloe Omoe, alto saxophone, bass clarinet, contra-alto clarinet, flute, electric valve instrument, percussion; John Gilmore, tenor saxophone, clarient, timb, electric valve instrument, voice; James Jacson, bassoon, flute, oboe, Egyptian infinity drum, electric valve instrument, voice; Danny Ray Thompson, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone, flute, bongo, electric valve instrument; Ronnie Brown, trumpet, flugelhorn, tambourine; Rollo Redford, bass; Matthew Brown, conga; Don Mamford, drums, percussion; Myriam Broche, dance; Greg Pratt, dance.

    GY 5:
  1. Untitled improvisation 1 (04.20)
  2. Discipline 27-II/Children of the sun (04.50)
  3. Nuclear war (04.28),
  4. Unidentified blues (05.22)
  5. Fate in a pleasant mood (09.22)
  6. Yeah, man! (02.47)
  7. Space is the place/We travel the spaceways/Outer spaceways incorporated/Next stop Mars (04.51)
  8. Untitled improvisation 2 (04.25)
  9. Untitled improvisation 3 (07.33)
  10. Discipline 27 (08.29)
    GY 6:
  1. Mack the knife (08.10)
  2. Cocktails for two (04.25)
  3. Somewhere over the rainbow (04.05),
  4. Satin doll (06.38)
  5. Big John's special (03.55)
  6. Carefree (Egyptian fantasy) (09.42)
  7. Days of wine and roses (06.10)
  8. Theme of the stargazers/The satellites are spinning (08.53)
  9. They'll come back (01.45)
  10. Enlightenment/Strange mathematics/Rhythmic equations (07.06)
Recorded on 27 February 1984 live at the Orpheus Theatre, Athens, Greece.

Design and artwork (front cover reproduced above) by Lora Denis; photograph by Kostas Kutsaftikis.

Originally released as triple LP on Praxis label.

Go to list of Golden Years of New Jazz recordings, to list of Leo Recordings,or Go to Independent Recording Labels Page