Leo Lab CD 028 Psalms & elegies

Aardvark Jazz Orchestra

Mark Harvey, music director, conductor, trumpet, piano; Arni Cheatham, alto, tenor and soprano saxophones, flute (tracks 1, 2, 4); Peter Bloom, alto saxophone, flute, Chinese flute, piccolo; Phil Scarff, tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet; Brad Jones, baritone and tenor saxophones (tracks 1, 2, 4); Mark Messier, tenor and soprano saxophones, clarinet (tracks 1, 2); Jeanne Snodgrass, trumpet (tracks 1, 2, 4); K. C. Dunbar, trumpet (track 2); Greg Kelley, trumpet (track 1); Marshall Sealy, French horn (tracks 2, 3, 4); John Patton, French horn (track 2); Bob Pilkington, trombone; Jay Keyser, trombone; Jeff Marsanskis, bass trombone; Bill Lowe, tuba (track 1); Richard Nelson, guitar (tracks 1, 2); Ken Filiano, bass (tracks 2, 3, 4); Jim Whitney, bass (track 2); Harold Anderson, bass (track 1); Jerry Edwards, electric bass (tracks 1, 2); Harry Wellott, drums (tracks 1, 2); Craig Ellis, percussion; Donna Hewitt-Didham, vocals (track 4); Vinny Golia, baritone and soprano saxophones, clarinet; Walter Thompson, alto saxophone; Joel Springer, tenor saxophone; Frank London, trumpet; Mike Peipman, trumpet; Jim O'Dell, tuba; Tomas Ulrich, cello; Sheila Waxman, piano; Diana Herold, vibes; Hollis Headrick, drums; Reid Jorgensen, timpani.

  1. Don Cherry's Song of beauty (15.27); recorded 26 April 1996 at Kresge Auditorium, MIT
  2. Other angels/other voices (15.48); recorded 18 December 1994 at the Harvard-Epworth United Methodist Church, Cambridge, MA
  3. Tiananmen elegy (15.02); recorded 26 April 1996 at Kresge Auditorium, MIT
  4. Psalms (29.46); recorded 26 August 1990 at Jacob's Pillow, Becket, MA
Cover art (front cover reproduced above) by Kate Matson.
Go to list of Leo Recordings, or Go to Independent Recording Labels Page