New World Records 80675-2 MEV 40

Musica Elettronica Viva

Allan Bryant, homemade synthesizer (CD1-1); Alvin Curran, mbira thumb piano mounted on 10-litre oil can, contact mics, amplified trumpet, voice, VCS3-Putney synthesizer, piccolo trumpet, flugelhorn, Serge modular synthesizer, Akai 5000 and 6000 sampler and Midi keyboard, computer, MAX/MSP, Kontakt-sampler, piano, shofar, MacBook Pro, toy boom boxes; Carol Plantamura, voice (CD1-1); Frederic Rzewski, amplified glass plate, contact mics, piano, electronically-processed prepared piano, voice, small instruments; Richard Teitelbaum, modular Moog synthesizer, PolyMoog and MicroMoog synthesizers with SYM 1 microcomputer, contact mics, voice, Prophet 2002 sampler, DX 7 keyboard, Macintosh computer, computer with MAX/MSP, Crackle box, Kurzweil K2000 sampler keyboard and MacBook Pro with Ableton Live, small instruments;Ivan Vandor, tenor saxophone (CD1-1); Garrett List, trombone (all except CD1-1 and CD4-2); Gregory Reeve, percussion (CD1-2); Karl Berger marimbphone (CD1-2); Steve Lacy, soprano saxophone (CD2-1, CD3, CD4-1); George Lewis, trombone (CD4-1).

    Disc 1
  1. Spacecraft [1977] (30.49)
  2. Stop the war [1972] (44.39)
    Disc 2
  1. Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, pt. 1 [1982] (43.07)
  2. Kunstmuseum, Bern [1990] (24.37)
    Disc 3
  1. Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam, pt. 2 [1982] (44.05)
  2. New Music America Festival [1989] (30.51)
    Disc 4
  1. Ferrara, Italy [2002] (67.03)
  2. Mass, Pike [2007] (10.57)
CD1-1 recorded at Akademie der Kunste, Berlin on 5 October 1967; CD1-2 recorded at WBAI, New York on 31 December 1972; CD2-1 and CD3-1 recorded at Stedelijk Museum, Amsterdam in April 1982; CD2-2 recorded at Kunstmuseum, Bern on 16 November 1990; CD3-2 recorded at the Knitting Factory, New York on 15 November 1989; CD4-1 recorded at Ferrara, Italy on 9 June 2002; CD4-2 recorded during the Festival of Contemporary Music at Tanglewood Music Center, Lenox, Mass. on 2 August 2007.

Front cover (reproduced above), front door of original MEV studio, via Peretti 27, Rome, courtesy Alvin Curran.

Go to Independent Record Labels page.