No Business Records NBCD7-8-9 Muntu recordings

Jemeel Moondoc

Jemeel Moondoc, alto saxophone; Arthur Williams, trumpet (CD1); Roy Campbell Jr., trumpet (CD2); Mark Hennen, piano (CD1); William Parker, bass; Rashid Bakr, drums.

    CD1: Muntu Ensemble: First feeding
  1. First feeding (05.09)
  2. Flight (from the yello dog) (13.57)
  3. Theme for Milford (Mr. Body & Soul) (20.37)
    CD2: Jemeel Moondoc & Muntu: The evening of the blue men
  1. The evening of the blue men, part 3 (double expo) (21.02)
  2. Theme for Diane (19.39)
    CD3: Muntu: Live at Ali's Allley
  1. Theme for Milford (Mr. Body & Soul) (36.35)
CD1 recorded on 17 April 1977 at Bob Blank Studios, New York City; CD2 recorded on 30 March1979 live at St Mark's Church, NYC; CD3 recorded on 20 April 1975 live at Ali's Alley. CDs 1 and 2 previously issued on vinyl; CD3 previously unissued.

This lavish package consists of a slip-case holding the 3CDs in a fold-out A5-sized digipack together with a separate 116-page paperback book providing a short history of the New York lofts, the background to Jemeel Moondoc and Muntu and a Muntu sessionography, all by Ed Hazel, and a personal essay by Jemeel Moondoc. All accompanied by several black and white photographs.

Design (front of slip-case reproduced above) by Oskaras Anosovas.

Go to list of No Busines Records or to Independent Recording Labels Page